Keystone logo
Huafan University

Huafan University

Huafan University


Huafan is the first university founded by the Buddhist community among the Chinese-speaking countries. The University has incorporated the ideals of both Chinese education and Buddhist culture into its curricula. It was established by the Ven. Hiu Wan, artist and educator, in 1990, as Huafan Institute of Technology, reorganized as Huafan College of Humanities and Technology in 1993, and then in 1997 was accredited its present status of a full-fledged university. Located in the rural area outside of Taipei, Huafan prides itself on its sublime educational ideals, its energetic teaching faculty, and its serene mountainous surroundings. Huafan University comprises four colleges including College of Engineering and Management, College of Liberal Arts, College of Arts and Design, and College of Buddhism, offering bachelor, master and doctoral programs in 13 fields of studies.

Our goal as an educational institution is to help students improve themselves through self-education, or the “Education of Enlightenment” as advocated by our founder, the Ven. Hiu Wan. This involves self-awakening, self-development and human-oriented education based on Chinese ethics and Buddhist compassion. Our objectives are to cultivate the students' academic competency as well as the integrity of their personality, to help them achieve wisdom and compassion and to ultimately benefit mankind as a whole.

Surrounded by beautiful nature at Ta Lun Mountain, Huafan campus is blessed with friendly classrooms. Because of our dedication to the ecological conservation, protected species like pangolins, Big Crowned Eagles, Formosan Blue Magpies, Formosan Reeve’s Muntjac can be seen on campus from time to time. In April and May, thousands of fireflies can be seen on campus at dusk.


  • New Taipei

    No. 1, Huafan Rd., Shihding Dist., New Taipei City 223, Taiwan R.O.C, , New Taipei