Technische Universität Berlin, Chair of Space Technology


The Technische Universität Berlin (TU Berlin) is an internationally renowned university located in the center of Germany’s capital. Founded in 1879, it is one of the largest and most prestigious research and education institutions of the country.

University alumni and professors

The university alumni and professor list include National Academies elections, two National Medal of Science laureates and ten Nobel Prize winners.

One of the largest universities of technology in Germany

Today, with more than 30,000 students, TU Berlin is one of the largest universities of technology in Germany, offering a wide range of subjects.

More than 18% of TU Berlin students come from abroad.

TU Berlin has a distinctly cosmopolitan flair; it maintains a number of international cooperation projects and has an exceptionally high ratio of international students. More than 5000 students from 130 countries study at TU Berlin. Moreover, many scientists from other countries teach and conduct research here.

Campus of the University

The main campus of the university is located in the centre of Berlin and is easily accessible from all parts of the city.

Chair of Space Technology

The MSE study programme is offered by the Chair of Space Technology, one of the six chairs of the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics at Technische Universität Berlin.

Established by Professor Eugen Sänger in 1963, it is the first Aerospace Department in Germany. Since then, it has successfully conducted research and educates systems engineers for the aerospace industry, mainly focusing on design, practical realization and operation of small satellite missions (TUBSAT and BEESAT family) together with students.

The Chair of Space Technology also builds and launches its own rockets (Aquarius Group and DECAN) and conducts experiments on sounding rockets.

Since 2007 we also run projects on development and testing of planetary rovers and the corresponding mission operations technology.

The graduates of the Chair of Space Technology work in key positions for the Aerospace Industry at European Space Agency (ESA), German Aerospace Center (DLR), Arianespace, Airbus Defence and Space, OHB AG, etc.



Technische Universität Berlin, Chair of Space Technology

Technische Universität Berlin, Chair of Space Technology
Marchstraße 12-14

10587 Berlin, Berlin, Germany
+49 30 314 25 922

Keystone Scholarship

Discover the options our scholarship can give you